The 2024 women’s college gymnastics season preview is highlighted by conference realignment.

women’s college gymnastics, among other sports, has suffered as a result of conference reorganization. It’s been a flurry of change, and the first ripples will be felt in the 2024 season. You’re not alone if you’re having problems keeping track! We rounded up the big alterations for this year, leaving the massive changes of 2025 to worry about in the future.

The 2024 women’s college gymnastics season preview is highlighted

This year, there are two major themes: changes in the lesser Western conferences and the introduction of ACC gymnastics. We also have two new teams this year, Clemson and Talladega. Lindenwood’s final season will be in 2024.

BYU is a member of the Big 12.

The Big 12 will include five teams in 2024: BYU, Denver, Iowa State, Oklahoma, and West Virginia. There hasn’t been any news on the conference championship format, but with only five teams, we may assume they’ll all compete in a single session with a bye.

Mountain West is sponsoring gymnastics

With BYU departing the MRGC, the Mountain West Conference, which includes several other MRGC teams as well as the MPSF, declared that it will begin sponsoring gymnastics. In 2024, it will be host to Air Force, Boise State, San Jose State, and Utah State.

women's college gymnastics

Southern Utah is transferred to the MPSF, and the MRGC is no longer in operation.

The Thunderbirds were left without a home as the rest of the conference made relocation. This season, they will compete with the MPSF, making the MRGC obsolete. Alaska, Sacramento State, Southern Utah, and UC Davis will call the MPSF home in 2024.

ACC gymnastics is here

With the arrival of Clemson, the final Power Five league — for as long as that word has significance as realignment continues — has finally added gymnastics to its schedule. This season, Clemson, NC State, North Carolina, and Pittsburgh will make their ACC debuts in gymnastics. If the attendance at Clemson’s Gymnastics 101 is any indicator, the conference will be a smashing success.

Talladega is the latest HBCU addition

This year, a second club will compete in its maiden season. Talladega College, an HBCU in Alabama, will introduce gymnastics in 2024. After Fisk, it is the second HBCU to introduce gymnastics. Talladega will compete on its own in 2024.

This is Lindenwood’s final season

The stunning news that their program will be eliminated came to the Lions just one year after they had competed in their debut season as a Division I team. It comes at a time when the athletic department is undergoing significant adjustments. The MIC will suffer its second defeat in recent years, following the defeat at the hands of UIC.

women's college gymnastics

Looking ahead

Despite the fact that these shifts appear to be overpowering, the most significant surprise will occur in the year 2025. Before that season begins, we will go over all of those, but in the meanwhile, as you are considering signings and the future of your favorite teams, we will list the changes here as a refresher. Oklahoma is going to become a member of the Southeastern Conference, which will be the home of a genuine championship tournament. Washington and UCLA will become members of the Big Ten Conference, which has not yet disclosed the tournament structure that will be used for its championships. Among the new members of the Big 12 are Arizona, Arizona State, and Utah. In the meantime, California and Stanford are on their way to signing with the ACC. Even if the football team has secured a scheduling agreement with the Mountain West, it is not yet clear what the future holds for Oregon State. However, it is likely that the same thing will happen for the gymnastics team as well.

Phew. That means the 2025 Power Five looks like:

ACC: California, Clemson, NC State, North Carolina, Pittsburgh, Stanford
Big Ten: Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers, UCLA, Washington
Big 12: Arizona, Arizona State, BYU, Denver, Iowa State, Utah, West Virginia
SEC: Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Missouri, Oklahoma


Leave a Comment